Getting There Is Half The Fun

I am a fan of the series.

I love the ability to meet my favorite characters again and again.  I love the excitement in wondering what will happen in the next installment.  But, can I be honest here?  I’m not the most patient person in the world here.  It’s hard sometimes, waiting.

Of course, there are respites from the boredom of being between books (other than, you know, reading other stuff).  This is the period when the fans get most involved with the other fans of whatever series it is, what with role-playing and theories (O, theories, how I love thee) and discussing the previous book (and the mind-blowing revelations therein) and finding all those darn loose ends that MUST BE tied up before the end of the series lest the author risk the WRATH OF THE FANDOM.

Wow.  Almost that entire last paragraph was one sentence.  I don’t really know what to think about that.

But then there’s the months (sometimes years) of just waiting and waiting, and there’s only so far such things can go, once all theories are voiced and all loose ends have been put on the checklist of Things We Must Know.  And that’s where the fun little extras come in, things to do that authors and fans put in between actual book releases to appease the hungry appetites of said fandom, like title/cover image releases and teaser chapters and pre-orders and all sorts of fun companion books.  And, yes, those I do enjoy.  (Especially the companion books.  Love those.  It’s like an extra book in the series, only it isn’t.)

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’ve found the waiting isn’t that bad after all.  At least, it keeps the series from being over too quickly.

Anyway, here’s a short list of books I am most looking forward to in 2011:

  1. Forever, by Maggie Stiefvater.  This is the final installment in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy.  It’s a love story involving werewolves.  I happen to like werewolves, but these aren’t your regular run-of-the-mill-full-moon-silver-bullet werewolves.  I would say more, but I don’t want to ruin the series for anyone, and plus I will be posting more on these books in the next couple of weeks (Forever comes out on the 12th of this month).  The first two books were Shiver and Linger and the series website can be found here.
  2. The Scorpio Races, also by Maggie Stiefvater.  I like this author.  Really, I do.  So, I think I’ll probably be buying this book when it comes out in October.  It doesn’t have an official site, but there is a short blurb for the book at the bottom of this page on the author’s main site.
  3. Inheritance, by Christopher Paolini.  Another series-finisher coming out this year, sometime in November, I believe.  It ends the Inheritance Cycle, which began with Eragon.  It’s a pretty good fantasy series, I’ve read the first book probably four or five times, and the web site is here.

So, I guess that’s it for today.  A rambling fangirl post about the Hunger Games is coming very, very soon, I promise.

Leave a Reply

