As Promised…

Today’s post is about my all-consuming passion for The Hunger Games (okay, maybe not all-consuming.  But still.).  Be warned: I will ramble.  Read at your own risk.

Okay, so if you have not heard of the Hunger Games trilogy at this point, a) you clearly don’t follow the YA genre at all, and thus this post might not be for you, and b) it’s a post-apocalyptic dystopian series by Suzanne Collins.

Here’s the cover of the first book:

Isn't it pretty?

Fun Fact: the word dystopian, which is clearly an actual word and not something I just made up, doesn’t appear in my computer’s dictionary.  Huh.

There.  I added it.  Now we can get back on track.

Anyway, the trilogy centers around Katniss Everdeen, who lives in District Twelve of the country of Panem.  Panem arose after said apocalyptic events, taking form in what we know as North America.  Panem consists of twelve districts that serve a vastly indulgent, cruel, and wealthy Capitol.  A few generations before the opening of the story, the districts rebelled against the Capitol’s harsh rule but failed.  In order to both remind the districts of their failure and to keep them subdued, the Capitol instituted the Hunger Games, a yearly happening in which every district is forced to send one boy and one girl (between ages 12-18) to compete in a fight to the death.  The last “tribute” alive wins.

Katniss Everdeen makes her living by hunting illegally in the woods around her district to keep her family from starving.  She loves her sister, Prim, more than anything in the world.  Thus, it comes as no surprise that when Prim’s name is drawn in the reaping for the Seventy-fourth Hunger Games, Katniss volunteers to go instead.

The book is great.  It’s got awesome characters you can relate to (trust me), a pretty whirlwind plot (in a good way), and two other books in the series that AT LEAST match it in both plot and quality.

There’s something for everyone in this book: romance, action, an awesome plot.  This series is one of my all-time favorites.  I discovered it maybe a year ago, a couple of months before Mockingjay came out (the last book).

Ohmygosh I love these books so much.  Yes, a lot of death, that’s kind of the whole point, but Harry Potter had the same thing, and I loved that series too.

The series (The Hunger Games, not Harry Potter, though the same goes for that too) has grown an immense fandom, with dozens of fan sites.  Some of these include The Hob, Down With The Capitol, The Hunger Games Trilogy, and Mockingjay.net, to name a few.  It also gave birth to multiple role-playing sites.

So, yeah, you could say it’s a popular series.  The first book alone had A LOT of weeks on the NYT Bestseller list.

Okay, here’s the most exciting part of the whole post:

THERE IS A MOVIE IN PRODUCTION.

Cue hyperventilating.

It’s being made by Lionsgate, and it’s got Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth in it and it’s going to be AMAZING.  I can’t wait.

But wait.  What’s that you say?  Don’t get too excited?  Movie versions are usually terribly off from the book and pure torture to purists like myself?

That’s where you’re mistaken.  Because the author is VERY involved in the entire process.  I have great faith in her and in the director, Gary Ross.

Besides, if the author’s okay with it, it’s not technically wrong, right?

Right?

And now, for the final part of my post, something that probably won’t make sense to anyone who isn’t a fan.  I felt like I should include it anyway, though, because it’s important to me.  For the past few weeks, the fandom at large has been deciding on what to call us, the fans of the Hunger Games.  After several polls and some heartbreaking results (because my favorite name was cast off after the first “round”) we are officially Tributes.

I liked District 14 much better.

Okay, rambling over.  I guess this post was pretty pointless if you’re already a fan of the series, but I felt like I had to get all that out in the open.  Also, this is a great starting point for future posts that reference The Hunger Games.

Goodbye for now, I suppose, and happy reading.

Leave a Reply

