All Was Well

At midnight this morning, I attended the premier of the last Harry Potter film.  It was amazing.  And also sad, because I realized it was the end of the Harry Potters.  No more releases, no more screaming lines of fans.  Just seven spectacular books, eight glorious movies, and countless Patronus-worthy memories.

Therefore, this post is to commemorate what Harry Potter was, is, and always will be.  And also to tell you how awesome the movie is.

First, what I wore:

"Don't worry. You're just as sane as I am."

The front of the shirt had the name of the movie and the sign of the Deathly Hallows.  Plus the date and tagline “It All Ends.”

I also made radish earrings from paper to complete the Luna outfit.  It was pretty sick.  Sick as in good.  Like scary good.  I loved it.  I went to the movie with two friends of mine who also love the series and we had so much fun quoting the movies and books and Potter Puppet Pals.

Now.  The movie.  It had everything a good movie should.  It stuck to the book pretty faithfully, and I was okay with the few changes that were made.  Of course, it had a lot of action and death and sad moments, but also a lot of heart.  The writers even found time for some humor in there, which was greatly appreciated.

I think any fan will be pleased with the results.  I would have to watch the other movies again to be sure, but I think this is one of the best if not the best one in the series.  Everything was very cleverly and spectacularly well done.  Also, (SPOILER ALERT) there were a couple of really sweet Luna/Neville moments, so now I’m officially a Luneville shipper (my celebrity name for them).  I don’t care what J.K. Rowling said.

Speaking of Neville, the second half of this movie was really his shining moment.  I loved it.  Matthew Lewis is a great actor.

I think all of the things on my top ten list made it in with only minor changes, which was excellent, because as you may know I am a stickler for accuracy in book-to-movie productions.

So, yeah.  Go see this movie.

Yes, you.

*uncontrollable sobbing*

I’ve been attempting to come to terms with the fact that this is really the end.  I cannot remember a time when one or another Harry Potter movie was being advertised.  One very clear childhood memory is watching a trailer for Prisoner of Azkaban.  Of course, I didn’t join the fandom until later, but still.  You see my point.  This is a traumatic thing.  For the past ten years, Harry Potter has been the franchise of all franchises, the thing that all the baby movies looked up to.  Now all of that is about to disappear.  This is a strange feeling, there being nothing more to look forward to from J.K. Rowling or the Trio.  (Unless there’s a James/Lily/Marauders/Snape prequel…please?)

But I must remember that this is far from the end.  Harry will live on as long as there are devoted fans who are willing to read and reread the books, and rewatch the movies.  There will always be conventions and Pottermore and Mugglenet and the Leaky Cauldron and everything else that brought the world of wizards into our Muggle universe.  There will always be those who Sort themselves and everyone around them into one of the four Houses, those who will name their children Ron or Harry or Hermione, and those who aim to attend a certain college purely for the Quidditch team there.  There will always be role-playing and Halloween costumes and theme parties.

More than anything, there will always be another copy of the first Harry Potter book, sitting on a bookstore shelf, waiting to be picked up by a curious child and ready to welcome them to Hogwarts for the first time.  There will always be those who are discovering the magic for themselves.  And, for those of us already fans, in the words of the author herself, “Hogwarts will always be here to welcome you home.”

This holds true for me.  Yes, I joined the fandom later than most, but that doesn’t matter.  I fell in love with the books, and the characters, and the world.  J.K. Rowling created something special, something that introduced countless people to reading and that introduced magic into our mundane existence.

So even though today marks the beginning of the end of what I’ll call the Greater Harry Potter Era, this fandom will march on.  Yes, it is bittersweet, but it is never the end- that’s the thing about books.

There are never enough words to describe the unimaginable impact this series has had on the world, and on me.  Neither are there enough to describe the feelings of the fandom at large in the light of this final movie.  So I won’t try.  Just see for yourself.

And so now, my dear readers, I will depart with the words of someone who also stuck with Harry until the very end:

“Nitwit!  Blubber!  Oddment!  Tweak!”

2 thoughts on “All Was Well

  1. Pingback: In Which I Find Out How You Found My Blog « Novel Journeys

  2. Pingback: Atra Esterni Ono Thelduin* « Novel Journeys

Leave a Reply

