A Google Adventure

I think I picked the wrong name for my blog.

This post got its birth from this one over at The Jackie Blog.  If you’re too lazy to click the link, it’s all about the author’s struggle to have her blog higher in the Almighty Listings of Google.  Which got me thinking.

What do people get when they search for the term “novel journeys?”

And so I embarked on the journey that has culminated in this post.  I figured it was time for something a bit different than a rant on all things book related.  Also, this post is relatively short, which is good because I have an essay due next week that I really need to start, plus all those books (I’m still on The Two Towers).

I used Google for this, because it’s the logical choice (really, does anyone really use Yahoo or Bing?).  It’s the one I use all the time.  So, I typed in the search term.  Perhaps not surprisingly, the first link that popped up was the home page for this blog.  But Google knows that I go there all the time.  Of course it would put that first.  So I scrolled down a bit and got…

This.  A travel agency.  For vacations to places where books took place.  Interesting?  Yes.  But I don’t want my blog to be found by people looking for a vacation.  But then I actually looked at the vacations.  Don Quixote, Anna Karenina- okay.  I can deal with this.  It’s fine sharing my name with one-

What’s this?!

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, it’s true.  My blog shares a name with more than one book-related travel company.  Except this particular one deals with one series in particular.  Twilight.

Don’t get me wrong- I liked Twilight.  I did.  But the series has a lot of haters.  Plus, I don’t specialize in Twilight.  If anything, I specialize in The Hunger Games, with Harry Potter at a close second.*

Anyway, that wasn’t the point I was making.  The point is there are a lot of other things, too.  Like this.  And this.

I guess there really is nothing new under the sun.  At least not in terms of blog names.  Here I was, coming up with this clever double-meaning (but in a good way) name that would become my way of launching into the blogosphere.  And here it is, already taken by countless other things.

Does that mean it’s a bad name?  Not in my book.  So it’s not completely original.  Did I really expect it to be in the first place?  In the days of its infancy, when I was coming up with usernames and domains, did I think I had something special- especially when that something was such a simply brilliant thing?

I suppose this is a learning experience for me.  I mean, there really are no new stories, either- just new ways of telling them.  So even though the name of my blog isn’t unique in this world, the content is.  I am unique.  So are my posts.  The title doesn’t make it any less valuable to me.  And that goes for my books as well.  They’re going to be similar to other things, sure, but in the end it’s all my own.

Well, I suppose that’s it for now.  I’d better go work on my essay.  On Tuesday I’ll be posting my contribution to the Teens Can Write, Too! blog chain, so tune in for that.

Happy reading!

 

*And now I really want a travel agency with Potter-themed tours…can someone research that for me?

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “A Google Adventure

  1. Loved the post. When I google “incessant droning”, short for The Oncessant Droning of a Bored Writer (my blog), I’m the first hit but the rest are about the world cup. If it’s any consolation, youre the first hit when I googled you to.

  2. Yeah. It’s something about the “incessant droning of horns” at the World Cup, making it impossible to concentrate. Apparantly, there are a bunch of popular news articles about that. I don’t know why; it’s hardly news. Hehehe. It is funny though. You are doing well with google, but not so much bing. That’s okay, no one uses bing and I am not doing very well with it either. Hehehehe. Have you… Oh my gosh! I just had the best idea for next month’s blog chain. *Runs to gmail to email Allegra* Sorry, random, but you just unleashed my creativity. hehehe. What have you thought of the blog chain so far?

    • I think it’s awesome. I’ve really loved the two posts that have come out, although now I’m nervous that my little poem won’t be able to stand up to the others.
      I can’t wait to see what you’ve come up with for next month.

  3. You will on the… 22nd was it? 23rd? Who knows! I think it’s a funny idea… 😀 I love how the Teens Can Write Too! blog brought me to all of these great teen bloggers like you. My other blog is more focused on adult books with adult followers, etc. so it’s nice to have a blog directed to teens. Keep on posting, your blog is great. I feel like I had a book recommendation for you, but I cant remember it…

  4. I will. You know, you should get a Goodreads account. If you don’t know what it is, just google it and really signup. I’ll friend you as soon as you get one, just tell me. Goodreads is a way for authors to connect with readers, for readers to connect with readers and so forth. You can send recommendations, follow others’ reviews and so forth. I think you’d love it and I would be interested in following your reviews. I’m really upping this comment count, huh? I have a funny way of doing that, you know, rambling. Must be why I entitled my blog “incessant droning of a bored writer” hehehe

    • Don’t worry about the comment count. 🙂 I’ve seen Goodreads but I’ve never really gotten into it or considered making an account. Perhaps I’ll look into it.

  5. Ok. Tell me if you get one. Wow, my free ebook, Lobotomy, hit 1400 downloads today (in total over the 2 months it has been out, not just today). Not bad, not bad at all

  6. Pingback: My only non random act(s)(kinda)!!! THE Theory(s) of Random « Theory of Random

  7. Actually, there is an agency specializing in Potter-themed torus. It has several packages, going around locations in the books while making fun vacations filled with history and other stuff. They even have a tour to see some of the cast perform in NYC. Here’s the link: http://www.hpfantrips.com/ All we need now is a tour of Panem…

  8. Pingback: In Which I Find Out How You Found My Blog « Novel Journeys

Leave a Reply

