An Experiment in Spontaneity

I don’t know what I’m going to write about today.

Really.  I suppose this is just one of those days.  A day when you can’t think of something to write, no matter how hard you stare at the computer screen.  A day when all of your creativity seems to have deserted you.  Because I honestly can’t think of anything to talk about.

I don’t think it’s because I’ve written about everything there is to write about; reading is an eternally ongoing experience for me, and I doubt I’ll ever be finished with it.  Maybe I’m just not feeling inspired today.

So, the question is this: what inspires people to write?  I don’t mean what makes them want to write or what gives them the original ideas for their writing, but what fleshes out their stories?  What is that crucial element which allows writers to keep doing what they do, without fail?

Maggie Stiefvater (you remember her, don’t you?) wrote about this topic some time ago on her blog (which is linked-to in the sidebar as always).  She said that one needs to go out and live.  Really live, as in see new places, experience new things, do something you’ve never done and draw from that.  Use your adventures to fuel your stories, to make it seem more real.  Inspiration, according to her, cannot be obtained from staying in the same environment all the time.  If a writer is holed up in his or her room every day, he or she is drawing on the same set of memories and knowledge that he or she always has.  When that happens, the well of ideas is going to dry up eventually.

Nature can be very good for the creativity.

I tend to agree with Mrs. Stiefvater.  I believe we writers need to go out there and really live life and be inspired.

So if you ever have a day like mine, a day where you are simply sitting in front of the monitor with a blank space where your thoughts usually are, my advice is do something different.  It doesn’t have to be much.  After all, it doesn’t take much for an idea to form.

Like this post.  I did something I’ve never really done before: I started writing with absolutely no preconceived notion of what I was going to post about.  All I knew was that I was going to post today.  I just started writing, and look where it led me.  I now have a full-fledged blog post for you, as well as some sound advice for myself.  And that brings me to a second piece of advice that has become apparent: on a day such as this, writers, just write something.  Write anything.  Start with absolutely no idea what you are writing, whether it be the worst thing you’ve ever written or the most epic novel ever produced in the history of humanity.  It doesn’t matter what it is.  You never know where those first few sentences might take you.  You might even get something great out of it.

It all works out eventually.

In other words: don't let lack of inspiration get you down!

Happy reading!

8 thoughts on “An Experiment in Spontaneity

  1. I really liked this 🙂 Often the best stories and texts are the ones that lacked an evening in front of the drawing board. Though, whilst I agree that writers should live their lives and be inspired, I also feel that one can often take aspects that are seemingly mundane (or not worth writing about at all) and apply hyperbole.

  2. Cool post, Tay!!!! I like spontaneous and random!!!
    😀 I was thinking about your blog… I just made this post about adding a blog badge in wordpress and – although I’m sure you ignored it – your blog could really benefit from it. Plus, we could trade blog badges. Read how to create and add a blog badge here and PLEASE tell me what you think. Sorry to disturb you but I worked hard on this post and hardly anyone has viewed it although I know how beneficial it is.
    http://incessantdroningofaboredwriter.wordpress.com/2011/10/22/how-to-add-a-blog-badge-in-wordpress-this-one-actually-works/

    • I saw your post through email. It’s helpful, but I wasn’t really planning on making a badge. I’m not totally convinced that it will make a huge difference for Novel Journeys.

    • I applaud your bravery in attempting NaNo. I’ve never tried it because I would not have time with school, and quite frankly, the very idea of it is nerve-wracking. I wish you the best of luck.

Leave a Reply

