Insert “Profile Picture” Pun Here

or, Lionsgate Attempts to Appease Trailer-Hungry Fans.

On Thursday, there was much squealing and overexcited geek-outs within the Hunger Games fandom (or District 14, as I like to call it).  Why?  Because Lionsgate decided to come out of nowhere with eight new character posters for the movie, that’s why.

Perhaps inspired by the success of Panem October’s way of releasing the Panem ID cards for different characters through the medium of various websites, each character poster was officially unveiled at a different entertainment site.  But I won’t make you hunt down all those sites.  No, I’ll take care of that part and link you to all of the sources through this post.  Okay?  Good.

So.  Moving on.

My reactions to the posters?  Well, in general, I think they’re fantastic.  They really give a feel for what the movie and characters are going to be like.  To be honest, though, I would have loved to see Caesar Flickerman or Foxface included in the bunch as well.  (Who would have thought it would turn out to be the talk show host we’re all dying to finally see?)  Other than that, though, great job to Lionsgate on the lighting and such.  I love the darkness around the characters.

This is probably going to be a longer post, so look under the cut for my take on each poster!

Okay, general reaction over.  Time to get into the nitty-gritty.  First up is everyone’s favorite Girl On Fire, Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence)!

Okay, so here we have your protagonist.  Firstly, you’ll notice that she’s facing the right, while all the other posters face to the left, therefore highlighting her specifically as someone special.  Also, while she does have a certain air of toughness to her expression, she isn’t your ruthless killer type.  I really like that, because Katniss is never a killer.  She has remorse over every life she takes.  Overall, this is a very simple yet brilliant way to portray the character.

Next is the Boy with the Bread, Peeta Mellark (Josh Hutcherson).  This very well might be my favorite poster of the bunch.  I absolutely love his blond hair (exactly what I imagined!), though it is much lighter than anything we’ve seen so far, which leads me to believe Photoshop was involved here.  As for his expression, the soft, caring side of Peeta really stands out, which is so important to the series.

Going to the other side of the spectrum, we have Gale Hawthorne (Liam Hemsworth), or as I like to call him, the Boy with the Snares.  Although I like the EW stills of him more, you can totally see more of his passionate and sometimes destructive personality in this picture.  He looks like a man on a mission.  Very determined.

Now we move into the characters we haven’t seen before.  It’s all very exciting, and we start with little Rue (Amandla Stenberg).  She’s gazing downwards and can only be described as a little girl.  This poster, for me, shows off the character’s innocence and youth in a way that makes what the Capitol does to her unforgivable.

But we have come now to Cato (Alexander Ludwig), a real nasty piece of work in the book.  This District 2 tribute is the main antagonist within the Games themselves.  Although they’ve chosen not to portray him in this poster as outright evil (a good move when you think of it), there’s something there telling you he is not someone to mess with.

As for the adult characters, let’s start with Cinna (Lenny Kravitz).  I have to say, the gold eyeliner is a big plus here.  Very canon.  It makes me that much more comfortable with this actor in the role.  I mean, he really looks like Cinna here.  I love the simpler clothing, too, considering he is from the Capitol.  That’s also from the books.  All in all, a very accurate portrayal from book to film, at least judging by this poster.

One of the most surprising posters in the bunch is Haymitch Abernathy (Woody Harrelson).  I personally was taken back by the decision to go with that long, BLOND hair.  It’s a different direction than what anyone was expecting.  Also, the clothing looks very snazzy.  I like it, although it isn’t what I would have thought an alcoholic like Haymitch would wear.  Overall, this poster is unexpected but not unwelcome.  I can’t wait to see how he does in the film- especially with that grim, weary countenance he’s got here.

Last but certainly not least, we have the uber-punctual Effie Trinket (Elizabeth Banks).  This poster was the most shocking to see, but perhaps in a good way.  After all, she is from the Capitol, and their style of garish fashion is supposed to leave you wondering who in their right mind would do that.  I have to admit the hair is not as I pictured- it looks white here instead of bright pink.  But I do love the makeup and hints of wardrobe here.  I mean, the flowers?  Completely Effie.

So, what do you think about the posters?  Are you more excited now for the movie?

Honestly, though, we’re all still waiting for that trailer…

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

