She Really Needs to Sort Out Her Priorities

I’m guessing it’s no secret that I like books.  A lot.  In fact, I like books so much that I can’t resist buying one when the opportunity arises.  Fifty cents at a yard sale?  Buy it!  Three dollars at a closing Borders?  Why not?  However, this brings more problems than it might seem.

You see, when I buy a book that looks really good, I’ll put down the one I’m currently reading in order to read the new one RIGHT THAT MINUTE.  You can plainly see how that works, readers, because I usually have AT LEAST two books named that I’m currently reading in the sidebar of this blog.

I haven’t read Omnitopia Dawn in months.

Readers, this is bad.  I love books, but I basically have the literary attention span of a squirrel.  I can’t stay on one book long enough to finish it as long as there’s a SHINIER, NEWER, COOLER BOOK out there for me to get my hands on.  When I started reading Divergent?  EVERYTHING ELSE WAS DROPPED.  But, come on.  It was Divergent!

My reasoning is that the book I was reading is good, but it’ll still be there later on, and it won’t kill me to read this new thing.  But, then again, the new thing will still be there, too.

I didn’t say my reasoning was logical.

Most of the time this happens with a long-anticipated sequel, which is forgivable, I suppose.  But the really bad part about all this is when the books I haven’t read start to pile up.  I start to forget about them completely as they collect dust on my shelf.  Today I wondered what they would look like all together in a pile, as a visual reminder of my laziness.  And so we come to this:

This is not good. Not good at all.

That’s twelve books, ladies and gentlereaders.  If you count the Stieg Larsson series as three separate books.  But I did get those all together for one price at a yard sale.

Some of these I knew I would read “eventually.”  Some I started to read but put down because it wasn’t for me (I know, I know.  I’m ashamed).  But this has become a real problem.

So “eventually” starts now.

No longer will these books hide in my bookshelf!  No longer will they be ignored!  From this moment forward, this unseemly stack will remain in plain sight as a reminder that I MUST READ THESE BOOKS!  The conquest starts today!

…Or as soon as I finish Lord of the Rings.  Because those are from my school library.  And I’m already halfway through.

Which reminds me.  I should probably finish The Two Towers today.

Happy reading.

P.S. Bonus points go to whoever can tell me what movie the title of this post is from!

14 thoughts on “She Really Needs to Sort Out Her Priorities

  1. Also I’m exactly like you! As soon as I see a nice shiny new book I desperatly want to drop the book I’m currently reading and switch to the new book! Especially if its a sequal!
    I used to have at least 5 or 6 books on the go at once. But I’ve finally, in the last maybe 5 months managed to get rid of this habbit. I think it’s mostly because I have a wordpress book blog now, which means I have a reason to finish each book in a reasonable amount of time so I can post about it (because I am now addicted to blogging as well as reading haha!) 🙂

    • Yes! That’s exactly it. I would bookmark one novel to start another, then forget the first, and before you know it you have multiple books going at once! That’s happened to me a few times. I think another thing that gets in the way is how busy I am with school. I’m used to having a lot more time to read than I do nowadays.

  2. Ughhh yeah I couldn’t agree more! I hate the fact that school gets in the way of my reading! Makes me vair sad 😦 Now all I tend to get is an hour tops at the end of the day, and thats if Im not too tired from all the school work!

    • I completely agree. This year is the busiest for school work that I’ve ever had, and when that’s added to swimming and everything else I have to do outside of school, I’m lucky I ever get around to reading!

  3. I think all readers feel just like you do. If you have a book that’s really long, perhaps War and Peace or some such tome, and you see that a new book just came out, perhaps Inheritance, anyone would immediately discard the one (temporarily, they tell themselves) for the other. It’s our nature. But then, by the time Inheritance is finished, something else takes its place and dear old Tolstoy takes a backseat. And then assigned reading comes in too and that just clutters everything up.

      • Indeed. He is a truly misunderstood author. And not in the way you might think. People understand him perfectly, but War and Peace is the one book to read if you want to be a “super-reader” as a kid. When I was twelve, there was nothing bigger than War and Peace. Then I read it and found that it went by quicker than the Count of Monte Cristo.

  4. Pingback: Novel Journeys’ First Christmas « Novel Journeys

Leave a Reply

