Novel Journeys’ First Christmas

Readers, I thought I might give you an update on the new books that will now ensure that I never run out of things to do for the next few months when combined with that already intimidating list of novels I haven’t read yet.  So, here is a picture of the books I received as gifts this holiday season:

Sorry it’s so big, but WordPress is no longer cooperating with pictures I put into it.

This doesn’t even include several more that I bought using gift cards that should be here within the next couple of weeks (well, half of them, at any rate.  The other half is coming with a pre-order).  As you can see, this means the To-Be-Read pile accumulated on top of my bookshelf has grown considerably.

Sometimes I wonder why I do this to myself.

Anyway, I’ve wanted most of these books for a while now.  It’s nice to finally be able to finish the steampunky wonder that is the Leviathan trilogy (have I mentioned that I adore Scott Westerfeld’s writing?), as well as the Secret Series.  The Scorpio Races is the latest book by Maggie Stiefvater, another author I admire.  I also received The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe, which is always welcome, and a complete set (in one volume) of all the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy books.  I’ve been meaning to read those for a while.  It’s time to get to the bottom of 42 and towels.

In all, I am incredibly grateful to my family for getting me these wonderful books.  Now I’m off to try and finish The Return of the King before the new year so that I can get cracking on that pile.  I hope all of you had a merry Christmas and happy holidays.

My parting question to you, readers, is a predictable one: have you read any of these books?  Were they good?  Bad?  Did they make you want to throw them against the wall?  Leave a comment and tell me what I’m in for (but no spoilers, please)!

Happy reading.

6 thoughts on “Novel Journeys’ First Christmas

  1. Haven’t read any of these, but I saw the movie for “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” if that counts for anything… 🙂
    (ps. I assume you aren’t participating in this month’s TCWT blog chain?)

    • Oh, I had almost forgotten there was a movie!
      No, I won’t be participating this month, though I’ll try to follow along and read all the posts. I don’t think I’m the best person to write for this month’s prompt; not a lot of books have made me angry, and the ones that have I’ve already posted about. The LOTR debacle is one. And then there’s this that I posted back in summer: https://noveljourneys.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/on-subjects-and-other-news/
      Good luck with the chain, though, and I hope to join again as soon as I can!

  2. Merry Christmas!

    Glad you got so many books. I myself got a considerable pile. I can’t offer you much advice here, unfortunately, but I can say that the secret series is an excellent piece of work (as is Edgar Allen Poe, of course). Hope you are having a good holiday!

Leave a Reply

