The Awards Want to Get to Know Me Better

Today, readers, I would like to acknowledge my being given the same four (!!!) blogging awards by two different people: Allegra from Here’s to Us and Kirsten from Kirsten Writes!  I’d like to thank both of you for giving me such a generous slew of awards.*  *wipes away tears*  I’m sorry, I’m getting emotional.  Really, though, thank you both.  I think I’d better just get to the *sniff* awards, okay?

I’m going to cut this post off here, ’cause it’s a long one.

The first of these is Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments.  I don’t know who this Mrs. Sparkly is, and I’m not sure I want to, considering the blog award’s image:

So.  Many.  Sparkles!  You’d think there were vampires involved.

All joking aside, there are some fun get-to-know-the-blogger questions that go along with this, so let’s get started, shall we?

  1. Describe yourself in seven words.  Ravenclaw.  Lots of books, too much Internet.  (I couldn’t find a way to fit “nerdy” in there without reverting to just listing seven words, and I figured this would be more challenging.  It was.  And there’s a sort of inherent nerdiness in those phrases anyway, right?)
  2. What keeps you up at night?  Mostly new plot bunnies.  Or sometimes I’ll latch onto something I watched or read or experienced during the day and dwell on that for a bit.
  3. Whom would you like to be?  A writer.  Like, a published writer.  (Also, I hope that’s a correct usage of the word “whom”, but I can’t be sure.  Anyone?)
  4. What are you wearing right now?  Wow.  I really wish I was wearing some sort of ridiculous outfit, but I guess you have to work with what you’re given.  Okay.  Here we go: a navy blue sweatshirt from the summer camp I attend, a red t-shirt from my state’s swimming championship meet this year, jeans, and white socks.
  5. What scares you?  While I really want to say “I fear oblivion,”** what I really fear is not being able to see the scary thing.  I’d much rather have a danger in my sights than let it out of my reach.  Like, would you rather have a snake in the middle of your living room, or a snake hiding in your furniture (and you’re not sure exactly where)?
  6. What are the best and worst things about blogging?  The best thing is that I finally have an outlet for all my book nerd.  The worst thing is probably coming up with a topic every time my schedule demands it.  Sometimes I just don’t have anything good to write about.  I’ve written some pretty terrible garbage just to make my quota of weekly posts.
  7. What was the last website you looked at?  I would feel like I’ve been mentioning him too much lately on this blog…IF THERE WAS SUCH A THING…but yeah, I was on John Green’s tumblr.  This being the last website at the time of writing this.
  8. What is one thing you want to change about yourself?  Well, it’d be awesome if I could just roll out of bed with PERFECT GORGEOUS HAIR every day, but sadly this is not the case.
  9. Slankets: yes or no?  Okay, so I looked this up and found out that a Slanket is the same thing as a Snuggie.  Nine times out of ten I would say ABSOLUTELY NOT, but there is this really awesome one I have with Pac-Man and the ghosts all over it, and I wear that sometimes.  But ONLY BECAUSE IT’S PAC-MAN.
  10. Tell us something about the person who nominated you.  Allegra is awesome.  She was Freshly Pressed once, so she’s basically a WordPress celebrity, and also she created the Teens Can Write, Too! blog chain along with John Hansen, and that’s always a blast to be a part of.  As for Kirsten, I really always enjoy her posts, and her recent series of comics on the stereotypical plots of different genres was hilarious.

The next award is the Sunshine Award, the badge of which looks something like this:

There are questions that go along with this, too, so let’s get cracking.

  1. Favorite colors:  My favorite color actually changes a lot.  Until a few months ago it was green, but then it turned to teal and now…yeah, I guess teal or, like, a turquoise-ish sort of blue.

    Something like this.

  2. Favorite animal:  Lynxes.  Tigers.  Big cats in general.
  3. Favorite number:  The only thing funnier than 24:  25.  (I cannot believe I just referenced that.  Can you say dork?)  (I promise that’s not the reason it’s my favorite number.)
  4. Favorite drink:  It’s a tie between hot chocolate (with milk!  It’s terrible with just water) and sweet iced tea.
  5. Facebook or Twitter:  This is complicated.  In terms of content, I like Twitter much more, but I only have a Facebook account.  So I guess Twitter, in theory…?
  6. Your passion:  Language.  First and foremost of the English variety.
  7. Giving or receiving:  It’s a tie.
  8. Favorite pattern:  I’m not sure.  I’m not a fashion-forward type in any sense of the phrase.  Argyle’s pretty nice.
  9. Favorite day of the week:  It used to be Thursday, but now I don’t really have one.  Anything but Monday or Tuesday.
  10. Favorite flower:  Don’t have one.  Anything that I find pretty, that’s my favorite.

There were also two other awards, the Candle Lighter Award and the Liebster Award.  Their badges are like so:

There aren’t any questions for the one, and I’ve already done the other,*** so I guess this is it!  Now I must choose some fellow bloggers with whom to share all this award-y joy.  Drumroll, please!

Miriam Joy from A Farewell to Sanity

beckyday6 from Blogs-of-a-Bookaholic

Sarah from Comfy Sweaters, Writing, and Fish

Erin from Oh Yeah, Write!

I’m fairly certain that all of these people have been nominated already (seeing as how this has been making the rounds for a few days), and for that I apologize, but I do this because I do truly enjoy their blogs.  That being said, I understand if they don’t post these awards twice.  It’s a lot of work for one post alone.

*On that note, how in the world did four different awards get rolled up into one post and then sent like that into the vast corners of cyberspace?!  Not that I’m complaining.  It’s pretty awesome.

**Anyone?  Augustus Waters?  No?  Okay.

***Goodness, so many links in this post!  It’s starting to look like old-school Novel Journeys in here!

21 thoughts on “The Awards Want to Get to Know Me Better

  1. Hyphens, hyphens. Hyphens make many words into one for the first requirement of the dreaded Mrs. Sparkly. (I have decided to bomb her blog once I find it, just for the picture.)
    In regard to the four awards question, I must confess that it’s (partially) my fault. I was given all four in one post just a few days ago by someone I had never seen before, and I just decided to lump them all together. Whip me, beat me, do what you like with me, but something had to be done to water down the horror of Mrs. Sparkly. (See above paragraph.)
    This is quite interesting, because I gave these awards to three of those you mentioned here: Sarah (aka Havoc, or Fish), Erin and Miriam. I’m sure they won’t mind getting them again, though.

    • Ah, yes, hyphens. While I respect the power of this most humble of punctuation marks, using it in my response would feel too much like cheating, especially in regards to the way I decided to go about answering the question. Besides, I like challenging myself to write better or with restrictions.
      I can see why you decided to go along with the one post for four awards. High concentrations of Mrs. Sparkly has been known to cause an excess of glitter in bloggers.

    • I don’t know about the number of times. I guess whichever you prefer. 🙂
      Yes! TFiOS reference has been recognized! The other reference is from an American children’s TV show.

      • That would explain why I don’t get it, then, being a British teenager who never watched much TV anyway…. ;D

        I saw it, I was like, is that a TFiOs reference? and then thought it must not be. But then you mentioned John Green, so I decided it was. And then you said it was. And I was like YAY I UNDERSTAND STUFF!

  2. Haha wow congratulations! Thats pretty impressive to get all those awards at once, but you deserve it. Thanks for the mention 🙂 Which award is it for? Or is it just for general blogginess? 😛

      • Ooooh yaaayyy! Ta 🙂 I will definitely do that. I’m one of those shallow people that likes to go “Look! Look at my award.l Oh yeah, I’m awesome” it’s always a great confidence boost 😛

  3. It’s no problem that you’ve nominated me, even though I’ve already received the awards. I like awards. They’re fun. 😉 I’ll mention that you’ve nominated me in my next post. That way you won’t feel left out. 🙂

  4. Pingback: All Of The Awards! « A Farewell To Sanity

    • I assume you’re referring to the “Okay” bit? I forget who said it first, but that’s entirely possible. He is the one who said the bit about oblivion, though.

      • Wait, wait. Your right. Hazel just pointed out it was stupid to fear oblivion when it was a very much inevitable event.

      • Correct. I checked in one of my three signed (and hanklerfished copies.) (Not to *brag*or anything.)

      • You have THREE HANKLERFISH?! You are one lucky nerdfighter! I have my J-scribble, which is awesome in itself, but no Hanklerfish or Yeti.

      • I went to the Washington stop on The TFiOS Tour, and a ticket came with a book. Which were all pre-signed. I didn’t actually get to meet them though which was quite sad.

  5. Pingback: Aw shucks, ya’ll gunna make me blush! | Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

