Details on Rowling’s New Book

So, I know this is a late post.  Sorry about that, I totally forgot.  It happens.  That being said, this is as good a time as any to announce that from now on I’ll only be doing one post per week.  It’ll go up on either Saturday or Sunday.  I feel like I’ve been spending too much time on the Internet and I want to change that.  So this is part of that mission.

Okay.  On to business.

This week, J.K. Rowling released the synopsis and title of her upcoming novel, which now has a tentative release date on September 27th.  You can also pre-order it.

The title is The Casual Vacancy.

Here’s the synopsis, taking directly from Rowling’s website:

Little, Brown announces details of J.K. Rowling’s first novel for adults.

When Barry Fairweather dies unexpectedly in his early forties, the little town of Pagford is left in shock.

Seemingly an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war.

Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils…Pagford is not what it first seems.

And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations?

Blackly comic, thought-provoking and constantly surprising, The Casual Vacancy is J.K. Rowling’s first novel for adults.

It sounds awesome, and judging from the synopsis it will be just as beautifully layered and intricate as the Harry Potter series is.

What do you guys think?  Are you excited for The Casual Vacancy?  Or do you fear that it’ll be disappointing given the brilliance of her previous work?  As for me, I’m about as optimistic as you can get.  I can’t wait to have this on my bookshelf.

Happy reading.

13 thoughts on “Details on Rowling’s New Book

  1. I have to admit I’m not really feeling the love at the moment. The synopsis sounds strange, and doesn’t perticually draw me in. I’m sure I will buy it at some point, but I’m not going to rush for it straight away or pre-order it because there are plenty of other books around that I also want to read, even though I’m a big HP fan.

    Good for you on the internet thing, it’s something I’ve noticed a lot lately myself but just with technology in general. My way of combating it has been turning my phone off – it’s suprizingly liberating actually being able to ignore all those notifications that would normally cause my phone to buzz impatiently. Good luck. 🙂

    • I can see where you’re coming from that you would be apprehensive about the new book. I’ll definitely pre-order it, but that’s just me, I guess.
      Thanks, I’m hoping to do other stuff with the time I free up with this, like the research paper I’m doing now or actually get through my to-be-read pile.

  2. Pingback: The Week That Was: Tax Day Edition « Prawn And Quartered

  3. I am rather waiting for the book to come out. It is I believe going to be a good read. The familiar way of writing now about to tell a different tale.

    Though I have loved Harry Potter since its very beginnings, I just cannot help but criticize at some points (which are obviously up on my blog). So yeah waiting for the new book!

Leave a Reply

