Easing Back Into the Routine

I’m alive, everyone!

First off, my sincerest apologies for leaving you all so unexpectedly and for so long. I was really swamped with finals and couldn’t bring myself to simply make off with a LazyPost every week. It didn’t feel right to put so little effort into the ol’ blog.

But school’s over and I’m back now and that means hopefully getting back into the swing of things. This post is just going to be a little update on what I’ve got planned over the summer. Next week I’ll hopefully have a short story for y’all, so I suppose that’ll be the start of me seriously blogging again.

I’m once again working on the Project, which is what I’ll refer to my book attempt as because I seriously lack even a decent working title. What I had when I last spoke of it proved to be yet another false start, though this time I’m keeping a lot more of the plot points from the previous draft than I have with my other attempts. I’m hoping that means I’m getting closer to the real story, the one I’ve been trying to uncover this entire time, the one that needs telling.

What’s different from my previous drafts is that this time I’m actually writing an outline first. I decided that the reason I keep writing and writing and ultimately coming to a dead end is because most of the time I only have a vague idea of what I’m doing and where the story is going. There’s a lot of moving parts to my tale and an outline will help me keep them all straight.

Second order of business: the Eclectic Reader Challenge. Clearly the goal of a book each month has gone out the window, so I’ll be trying to finish as many books as possible over the summer. That means a bunch of reviews, which I generally don’t particularly enjoy writing, but I probably could use the practice. Right now I’m almost through The Catcher in the Rye, so I’ll be reviewing that shortly. Then, most likely, I’ll do Pride and Prejudice, and then get through the rest of the books in the sidebar there that I started and never finished.

Blog news: I’ve been given an award by the brilliant Kirsten, which I promise I’ll do a post on soon. I haven’t forgotten! That’ll come sometime in the next couple of weeks. Now that I’m blogging again, I’ll also be joining up with the Teens Can Write, Too! chain once more (kinda bummed that I missed out on this month, though, I love talking about covers).

I should probably tell you quickly about my high school’s summer reading books this year. The book that the entire school is reading is The Fault in Our Stars, thanks in part to my recommendation, and I’m super excited about it. Having been a nerdfighter for about eight months or so now, I absolutely love TFiOS and can’t wait for the student body to love it as well.

I have two other books to read as well, since I’m taking AP English next year: Dracula and a nonfiction called The Shallows, which is about how the Internet is affecting our minds and such. I’ve already read the former, which is a bit of a disappointment seeing as how now the only new book is a nonfiction, but I’m willing to give The Shallows a go. More on the summer reading will probably come in the future.

That’s how things stand for me in the literary world. I look forward to joining the WordPress community once more.

Happy reading.

6 thoughts on “Easing Back Into the Routine

  1. Hey, I’m glad your alive! I hope your finals went ok?

    I too have been completely neglecting my Eclectic Readers Challenge. I really need to get a move on, I’ve only read three books so far, although hopefully a fourth soon. But now that I have the whole summer ahead of me I’m sure I can catch up. 🙂 How come you don’t like writing book reviews? I think you’re pretty good at them.

    • Oh, yeah, my finals were fine. Great, actually. I ended up getting straight A’s for the year. I was really worried that I wouldn’t be able to do that (I’m generally a fairly good student).
      I’ve just never enjoyed reviews in general. Never liked reading them, never liked writing them. I figure if you want to know what a book is like, you should just read it. And anyway I’ve never been handy with analyzing characters and symbols and things like that. Plus I don’t consider myself exactly qualified to be a reviewer. I think I’m getting better, though.

      • Wow, that’s impressive! Congrats.

        That’s fair enough. If you don’t like reading them it makes sense that you wouldn’t like writing them.

Leave a Reply

