I have nothing to add.

Miriam Joy Writes

Disclaimer: I’m a Christian. I like to think I’m an open-minded, non-judgemental, nice person. Most people, when they hear I go to church, assume the opposite. Please don’t judge me before you know me because that is not nice 😦 I’m writing this post from the point of view of a 16-year-old brought up in a Christian family who thinks censoring books for religious reasons is stupid. Just in case that wasn’t clear enough by the end of it.

In my life, I’ve come across quite a few people who try and control what their children, friends, siblings, next-door neighbours, etc, read. Some will do this only occasionally – “Oh, I don’t think you’re quite old enough for that book yet. Try this one.” Others will basically censor the shelves of the local library before they’ll let their children near it.

One of my first experiences of this was when…

View original post 975 more words

Leave a Reply

